top of page

Opinions on pineapple pizza, survival and hints about sequels- Interview with author E. K. Seaver

I'm thrilled to interview author E. K. Seaver on her release date for her newest book: The Reflections!!! YAY!!!


*drumroll*

.

.

.

the


INTERVIEW:



(I speak in bold) When did you start writing the Reflections/what was the inspiration for it?

(E. K. Seaver responds) I started brainstorming for the Reflections when I was fourteen, after my mom and I had attended a homeschool conference. I'd gotten to see N. D. Wilson speak about writing, and one of the things he talked about was writing for people close to you, not for a broad "audience." At the same time, my mom was attending a class about helping your kid take the SAT. She was explaining it on the car ride home, and the two ideas merged into the perfect storm that is now The Reflections. I originally wrote it as a novella for some friends to enjoy and it was the most fun I've had while writing. (The secret project I'm working on now is pretty fun tho.)


That is so cool! (And homeschool conferences for the win :D).

What are your top three favorite characters in the Reflections and why?


As a person- Nathaniel. He's just very sweet and I love him.

As a character- Nina. She's got such a driven personality and goes after what she wants. To write- Michael because TRAUMA



They sound awesome! And poor Michael. D:


Would you survive this book?

So... some of the survivors do that simply because they can convince the people in charge that they'd be manipulative and malleable in their schools, meaning that the survivor could become a leader in the exact way the current Leaders want them to be. I'm not what the Leaders would be looking for through the test takers (actually they might peg me enough of a threat to off me pretty quickly) but if I could convince them I was, yes I would survive. That's assuming I got in in the first place, though.


*Nods* I felt like you have a high chance of surviving (me on the other hand? Nope. Lol).

What are books you would recommend that are similar to the Reflections?

To Best The Boys by Mary Weber is the first one that comes to mind with the traps throughout the maze. The Out Of Time Trilogy by Nadine Brandes is Christian Dystopian.


YEAH THE OUT OF TIME TRILOGY!!

Would Em like pineapple on pizza?


Absolutely not. She's traumatized, not a heathen.


But, buuuut, pineapple on pizza is amazing. *shakes head*

Why do you write?

Because I have stories to tell. If I stopped having stories to tell that meant something, I would stop writing. I've gotten pretty far into books and either stopped writing them or went to replot/rewrite the whole thing. Stories should have a purpose, if only the purpose is to entertain, but I always strive for my stories to have a deeper meaning. I heard a quote somewhere that went something like "Stories should provide a way to escape the world temporarily, but come back more prepared to face it." That is exactly what I want my stories to do.


Ahhh yes!! I love that! Entertaining while holding truth that helps readers *applauds.*

Okay, last question! Anything you can share about the future books in the series/outside of the series?

Well... there's a fair bit of easily-overlookable foreshadowing in The Reflections. Book 2 and 3's titles also begin with Rs. Less people die in Book 2 and it's got a dark academia aesthetic. There's also going to be a lot of heavier subjects regarding mental health in book 2 as a lot of the characters deal with the repercussions of the Reflections.

As for other stuff... There is other stuff. That's about all I can say right now, as none of it will be out until the whole RF trilogy is released. It is fiction, though, and deals with political and emotional ties and war. :D


That sounds amazing! And that the titles begins with "R" yesss!


Thank you for your time! :D


Author Bio

To find an E. K. Seaver, you must set a trap. The best option is to lure her in using chocolate, blankets, and a typewriter, but if none of those are on hand, spare books and Broadway music can be easily substituted. She prefers to be wild and free, though. Whether it includes adventuring through the Rocky Mountains or curled up at a local bookshop, she uses her freedom to produce art. From books to scarves to paintings, Ms. Seaver strives to honor her King in every aspect of her creative works. She desires her stories to hold meaning beyond the tale and attempts to follow in the footsteps of storytellers who came before her. You can find her and her wild adventures on Instagram @ekseaver.author



The Reflections
Everyone in the Alliance knows about the Reflections. It’s the opportunity to get into the University, the only government-recognized form of education, and those accepted are guaranteed success and comfort for the rest of their lives. Thus, when Em Gades receives the silver invitation, her future is secured. The worst that could happen is she gets sent home, right? Until she arrives, and the rumors about the Reflections prove true. The only way to live is to get into the University, and to do that you must be one of the four remaining Chosens at the end of the competition. Although she was warned beforehand to trust no one, Em quickly forms attachments to her fellow teammates with the hope that as many of them can survive as possible. However, as
Chosens are rapidly executed for failing competitions, Em struggles
The Reflections on Amazon to understand that, if God is real, why he would let something
Trailer for the Reflections terrible happen to a group of mostly innocent teenagers. With likely The Reflections on Goodreads no more than a few days left to live, she and the other Chosens
must navigate life or death situations and find answers to the
question:
Are their lives worth the deaths of others?

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page