top of page

Three Tips to be Respected in the Publishing World

Be on Time

99% of writers miss their deadlines -Idk who said that but I think it might be true, because as I write this, I’m two days late for my deadline. At least I’m among friends…

But seriously, if we are on time with our writing deadlines, and respond quickly to emails/messages (another area I hope to grow in) it’s as if we graduated with honors from a school that everyone just barely graduated from.

Why should we care? Because it is respectful, and because people notice. If not, perhaps it will be like this:

“Ah, she’s great, but she never gets back on time.” Or “I mean, he was nice over e-mail, and his novel sounded fantastic, but it’s been twelve months since his manuscript deadline. I wonder if he died?”

Yeah, people will notice if you meet your deadlines and respond on-time, if you don’t, they’ll talk bad about you.


Don’t Trash Talk Others

Sure, if your manager is looking to hire someone who you know will just walk in and explode the place with bad work skills, and your company will crumble and you all will be fired and homeless, definitely be kindly honest about said person, but otherwise, keep negativity in a Ziplock bag and bury it in the woods.

Sure, maybe Harry is annoying, and everyone else talks about him behind his back, but don’t you be one of them. In fact, ask them to stop, or walk away.

You might be sneered at as no fun, but eventually you will be respected, because you choose to respect the other person, and you choose to talk positively instead. The others will trust you, because they will know you aren’t trash-talking them behind their backs too.

Be Knowledgeable

If you are a writer who loves fantasy novels (hey there 😉 ) read up on fantasy novels from folks who know more than you. Podcasts, writing books, blogs, conferences. Hey, I have a list here for you:

Storyembers.org + Podcast (also on Spotify)

Helpingwritersbecomeauthors.org + every single one of her craft books

Book: Pathway to Publication by Linda Taylor coming out later this year!

Then, share your knowledge. Not like a know-it-all, silly! But because you are excited about what you learned and you want your friends to know about it too. Re-share the resources you found on your social media, or tell friends in person. Always be down to advise a friend on your expertise.

Trust me, they will think highly of you.


Bonus tip:

Avoid being stalker-ish or creepy online.

I'm 99 percent sure that you wouldn't be, but just in case here we go.

Mentioning in person that you saw their new post about a book they are reading is great to do! But (when you are just getting to know the person), commenting on all of their posts online might be a little creepy. Wait till you get to know them more. *I say this because I'm embarrassed at how I used Facebook as a kid. Poor devotional-like writer on Facebook. Totally fangirl spammed him. Super awkward now that I think back to it.


Advice from:

My Professional Writing classes at Taylor University

My own experience :)


What are your thoughts?


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page